Animalia Kingdom Facts

Animalia Kingdom Facts
••• Microsoft Office Clips

There are five major kingdoms of living things: the kingdom Monera, the kingdom Protista, the kingdom Fungi, the kingdom Plantae and the kingdom Animalia. The kingdom Animalia has over 2 million species that share certain characteristics. Most animals fall into this category.

Multiple Cell Types

Living organisms in the Animalia kingdom are all multicellular, meaning they have more than one type of cell. They do not have rigid cell walls but rather have permeable membranes surrounded by fluid.

Dining Out

Members of the kingdom Animalia are heterotrophs, meaning they get nourishment from other organisms rather than manufacturing it themselves (as in photosynthesis).

Getting a Move On

Animals use locomotion to move about. Members of this kingdom move about using a variety of methods, from legs and fins to cilia and wings.

Sexual Reproduction

Most organisms in the Animalia kingdom reproduce sexually, meaning males and females mate to exchange sperm and eggs.

All Shapes and Sizes

Members of the Animalia kingdom range in size from microscopic, such as plankton, to gigantic, such as the blue whale.

Related Articles

The Types of Cells Which Lack a Membrane Bound Nucleus
3 Properties of a Cell
Cell Characteristics
What Is the Diploid Number?
Differences Between Protista & Monera
What Are the Four Eukaryotic Kingdoms?
The Structure That Surrounds the Cytoplasm in a Bacterial...
What Is Interphase, Metaphase & Anaphase?
How to Make a Plant Cell Model Using a Shoebox
Which Event Will Follow DNA Replication in a Cell Cycle?
How to Make a Model Plant & Animal Cell
How to Make an Animal Cell Diagram
Characteristics of Aquatic Plants
Six Main Cell Functions
Where Is the Nucleus Found in the Cell and Why?
How to Find the Volume of a Sphere in Terms of Pi
The Types of Cells That Lack a Membrane-Bound Nucleus
Test Your Knowledge on Middle School Science
Where Is Starch Stored in Plant Cells?
The Characteristics of the Mitochondria