How to Convert Your GPA to a Four Point Scale

School GPAs are important.
••• school books image by William Berry from

GPA, or Grade Point Average, is an important part to any education. United States colleges often set the GPA scale on a four-point scale. Though the scale differs slightly from school to school, there are basics to GPA conversion that are applicable to most colleges and high schools around the nation. High schools often have different grading scales that further complicate GPA conversions, but they can be converted to a four-point scale as well.

    Ignore the points and look at the letter grade. High schools that use a 100-point system for grading are one of the hardest for conversion because they are not based on a four-point scale to begin with. The best way to convert in this case is to ignore the exact points and look at the letter grade instead.

    Write down every grade in letters and convert each letter grade per class to the four-point scale. An A is worth 4 points, a B is worth 3 points, a C is worth 2 points, a D is worth 1 point and an F is worth 0 points. Incomplete classes are usually counted as 0 points.

    Add all of the points. For example, a student taking five classes who has two As and 3 Bs would add 4+4+3+3+3 to get a total of 17.

    Divide the total found for all the points by the number of classes. A total of 17 for five classes would result in a GPA of 3.4.


    • Some colleges differ slightly in GPA, looking at the total by A+, A and A- scales instead of the typical four points for any A grade. Exact conversions will differ based on the college scale used, which can typically be found on the college website. The method remains the same, adding the points and then dividing by the number of classes, but the numbers will differ slightly.

Related Articles

How to Calculate a Cumulative Numerical Average
How to Convert 4.0 System to 100 Point Grading System
How to Determine Your Cumulative GPA From College Transcripts
How to Convert My GPA From a 12-Point Scale to a 4-Point...
How to Calculate Elementary Grade-Point Average
How to Find Out My GPA Score at Home
How to Find a Z Score
What Are the Different GPA Scales?
How to Calculate Your Yearly Average on a Report Card
How to Calculate GPA Quality Points
How to Calculate a Grade Point Average for 5.0
How to Calculate Your Semester Average
What Does Weighted & Unweighted GPA Mean?
How to Get Your GPA Score
How to Calculate Trimester GPA
How to Calculate Your YTD GPA
How to Calculate Grade Scores
How to Calculate Your Gpa Grade Point Average
How to Convert T-Scores to Percentiles
How to Calculate Your GPA on a 4.0 Scale

Dont Go!

We Have More Great Sciencing Articles!