Countries That Use Celsius

Celsius is used universally in Asia, Africa, Europe and South America.
••• Олег Дорошин/iStock/Getty Images

The Celsius scale, created in the mid-18th century, is part of the metric system, and is today the most common form of temperature measurement. Because of the near-universal adoption of the metric scale, Celsius is the official form of temperature used in the vast majority of countries worldwide.

TL;DR (Too Long; Didn't Read)

The United States is the only major industrial country that still uses Fahrenheit.

History of the Celsius Scale

The scale now known as the Celsius scale was first proposed in the 18th century. In 1742, Swedish scientist Anders Celsius created a temperature scale, using the boiling point of water as the zero degree measurement, and its freezing point as the 100 degree measurement. One year later, a similar scale, called ​centigrade,​ was invented by French scientist Jean Pierre Cristin. Cristin placed the freezing point at zero degrees and the boiling point at 100 degrees instead. Cristin's placements of the freezing and boiling points became those used on the scale today. The scale was known interchangeably as Celsius and centigrade until 1948, when an international meeting on measurements officially designated the scale as Celsius.

The Metric System and Celsius

Celsius temperature is part of the ​metric system​ of measurement, first developed in 18th century France. Like Celsius, other metric units – such as kilometers, grams and liters – are based on multiples of 10. The metric system was established as an international standard of measurement in 1875, and became the official form of standardized measurement for most European countries and their colonies by the end of the 19th century. Since the Celsius scale was the major temperature scale of the metric system, it became the official temperature scale for most of the world.

Imperial System Conversion to Metric and Fahrenheit

The only exceptions to the quick adoption of metric scales, and thus Celsius, were English-speaking countries that used the ​imperial system​, such as the United Kingdom, India and South Africa. These countries used Fahrenheit, an imperial unit of temperature. However, by the mid-20th century, even these English-speaking countries began to adopt the metric scale, and thus Celsius. India switched in 1954, the U.K. in 1965, and Australia and New Zealand in 1969. Today, only three countries do not use the metric system: the United States, Liberia and Burma.

The relationship between Celsius, C, and Fahrenheit, F, temperatures is given by the following formula:

F=1.8C + 32

So, freezing point – zero degrees Celsius – is 32 degrees Fahrenheit, and the boiling point at 100 degrees Celsius is 212 degrees Fahrenheit.

When the temperature is -40 degrees, it is the same in both Celsius and Fahrenheit.

Countries That Use Fahrenheit

Because of the widespread adoption of the metric system, most countries worldwide – including non-metric Liberia and Burma – use Celsius as their official temperature scale. Only a few countries use Fahrenheit as their official scale: the United States, Belize, Palau, the Bahamas and the Cayman Islands. Fahrenheit is still sometimes used in Canada, although Celsius is more common and is the official Canadian temperature scale.

Related Articles

Celsius vs. Centigrade
The Four Types of Temperature Scales
How to Convert Celsius to Fahrenheit for 5th Grade
How to Convert 220 Celsius to Fahrenheit
How to Convert Fahrenheit to Kelvin
How to Convert Celsius to Fahrenheit
What Are the Basic Units of Length, Volume, Mass &...
How to Convert 180 Degrees Metric to Fahrenheit
How to Convert Kelvin to Atmosphere
How to Read a Celsius Thermometer
How to Convert 23 Celsius to Fahrenheit
How to Change a Digital Thermometer to Read Fahrenheit
How to Calculate Temperature Uncertainty
What Is the Metric Scale?
How to Turn Carbon Into Graphite
How to Convert Latitude Degrees to Decimal
Facts About the Metric System
How to Convert 400 Fahrenheit to Celsius
How to Convert Celsius to Kelvin
How to Convert Latitude & Longtitude Into Feet