Five Classes of Chordates

••• Viktoryia Voinakh/iStock/GettyImages

Chordates are organisms that, at some time during their development, possess a rod called a notochord extending the length of their bodies at full development. The notochord acts as support during movement by stiffening the body and lies ventral to the central nervous system and dorsal to the gut. There are several classes of chordates, including, fish, birds, reptiles, mammals and amphibians.

Class Reptilia

Reptiles are animals that have scaly, water-resistant skin, lay shelled eggs and breathe air. They are tetrapods and will have four limbs or else directly descend from a four-limbed ancestor. Reptiles are also cold-blooded animals and are not able to withstand cold weather but must depend on the temperature of its surrounding environment to maintain its body temperature. Some examples of reptiles are sea turtles, snakes, crocodiles and chameleons.

Class Amphibia

Amphibians--meaning "two lives"--spend their lives both on land and in the water. Every amphibian is born in the water with tails and gills; however, as these creatures grow, they develop legs, lungs and the ability to live on land. Amphibians are cold-blooded animals and remain the same temperatures as the water or air in their surrounding environment. Some examples of amphibians are frogs, newts, toads, caecilians, blindworms and salamanders.

Class Chondrichthyes

The skeleton of Chondrichthyes, or cartilaginous fish, is made up entirely of cartilage. Their mouths lie on the underside of their heads and typically contain numerous sharp teeth. They have asymmetrical, upward-curving tails and do not have a swim or lung bladder. There are five to seven gill slits on both sides on a Chondrichthyes body, and they reproduce by using modified fins to pass sperm from the males to the females. Some examples of Chondrichthyes are sharks, chimaeras, rays and skates.

Class Agnatha

Agnathans, or jawless fish, are the oldest known vertebrates. There are two primary types in the Agnatha class, which are hagfish and lampreys. The hagfish are specialized scavengers. Hagfish are also relatives of the slime fish and try to shed their slimy coats and make new ones by attempting to tie themselves into knots. The lamprey is a parasite that uses suction to attach itself to other fish in order to feed.

Class Mammalia

Mammals are warm-blooded animals that have hair and produce milk for the purpose of nourishing their young. A mammal’s body will maintain approximately the same temperature at all times. In the heat a mammal will sweat or pant to cool down, and in the cold the mammal’s fat and fur or hair acts as insulation. Most mammals display adaptability to all types of conditions and have larger brains than any other vertebrate. Some examples of mammals are bears, camels, monkeys, cheetahs, bats and dolphins.

Related Articles

What Are the Differences & Similarities Between Mammals...
The Skeletal System of Mammals
What Are the Similarities Between Birds & Mammals?
List of Characteristics of Mammals
The Anatomy of the Hydra
External Fertilization in Chordates
How Long Can a Dolphin Hold its Breath?
What Type of Body Coverings Do Amphibians Have?
Similarities & Differences Between Frogs & Toads
The Difference Between Flatworms and Roundworms
How to Compare a Frog and a Human Respiratory System
What Are Some Ways Starfish Adapt to Their Environment?
Characteristics That Grasshoppers & Crayfish Share
Science Activities for Warm Blooded Vs. Cold Blooded
Physical Adaptations of Roundworms
How Are Reptiles & Amphibians Alike?
Earthworm Phylum Characteristics
Parts of an Alligator Body
List of Things That Have Shells