Levels of LEED Certification

LEED certification affirms that your building adheres to green standards.
••• green city image by dead_account from Fotolia.com

Sought by architects, engineers, real estate professionals, government officials, and interior designers, the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification confirms that both human and environmental health issues have been addressed in the design and construction of a building. Four levels of LEED certification can be achieved via a point system based on five key aspects of building design and construction.

Indoor Environmental Quality

LEED certification is obtained once the U.S. Green Building Council has rated the indoor environmental quality of a structure. Good indoor air quality must be achieved by removing, diminishing, and controlling any source of air pollution within the building; providing a control device for the thermostat system to guarantee comfortable temperatures; and implementing connections to the outdoor environment. Up to 15 points toward a certification level can be obtained during the indoor environmental quality evaluation.

Sustainable Sites

A building site will also be rated by the U.S. Green Building Council, with a maximum of 14 points being awarded. Points are given for the reuse of an existing building, for neither disrupting nor endangering natural or agricultural land, for a location that diminishes the need for automobile driving, and for the protection or restoration of natural sites during construction.

Water Efficiency

Up to five points in the water efficiency category can be awarded for installing systems that reduce water consumption and that treat water efficiently and in an environmentally sound manner.

Energy and Atmosphere

Up to 17 points can be earned in the energy and atmosphere category for maximizing a building’s energy efficiency, for using renewable and alternative energy sources, and for adhering to ozone protection protocols.

Materials and Resources

Up to 13 points can be earned in the material and resources category for using building materials that leave less of an environmental impact on the earth, and that reduce and control waste and decrease the quantity of materials needed.

Extra Points

The U.S. Green Building Council will award a building an extra five points for design innovations that make the structure excel beyond expectation in the previous categories, or for making a building green in a method not covered by the standard five categories.

Certification Levels

A total of 69 points are possible in the above categories: 26 to 32 points earns basic LEED certification, 33 to 38 points earns a silver-level certification, 39 to 51 points earns gold-level certification, and 52 points or higher earns platinum certification.

Related Articles

How to Average Grades Using Points
Ideas for Projects on Energy in the Fifth Grade
Reasons to Build an Eco-Friendly Home
Renewable Vs. Nonrenewable Energy Resources
The Advantages of Passive & Active Solar Technology
Getting Paid to Save the Planet: Your Guide to Green...
How to Calculate Your YTD GPA
How Does an Ecosystem Survive?
Parking Garage Square Footage Per Car
How Can We Actively Restore the Environment?
Three Positive Effects of Going Green
List of Natural Resources in Florida
Definition of an Aquatic Ecosystem
Renewable, Nonrenewable and Inexhaustible Resources
List of Earth's Resources
The Benefits of Desalination Plants
Advantages & Disadvantages of Desalination Plants
How to Unlock a Lifetime of Safe Browsing with VPNSecure
HVAC for Beginners
What Are Renewable and Non-Renewable Resources?

Dont Go!

We Have More Great Sciencing Articles!