The Life Cycle of a Hammerhead Shark

••• Alastair Pollock Photography/Moment/GettyImages

There are nine species of hammerhead sharks. They are found in oceans all over the world. The hammerhead is easily identified by its distinctively shaped head, which allows it to hunt prey efficiently since its eyes are spaced farther apart than other sharks.


Gestation is 10 to 12 months, and a female shark typically has a litter of 30 to 50 pups every year.

Once born, shark pups immediately leave their mother, who may be inclined to eat them. They begin hunting in shallow water for their own food.


Most species of hammerhead sharks migrate toward cooler water in the poles every year. Mass migrations of hundreds of hammerheads have been documented.


Hammerhead sharks range in size from 13 to 20 feet, and can weigh between 500 and 1,000 lbs.


Hammerheads dine on fish, squid and octopuses. They do not typically attack humans, but can be aggressive if threatened.


Hammerhead sharks can live up to 30 years.

Related Articles

Boom! Here's How to Create Your Own Volcanic Eruption...
Behavioral Adaptations for Sharks
What Is a Hammerhead Shark's Behavior Like?
Life Span of Lobsters
The Life Cycle of the Piranha
Life Cycle of a Manatee
Science Fair Project Ideas Involving Sharks
What Are the Dolphin's Body Parts?
What Foods Do Harp Seals Eat?
Does Mahi Mahi Have Fins & Scales?
Parts of an Alligator Body
What Is a Whale's Diet?
What Eats Harp Seals?
How Do Whales Mate?
What Do Ocean Mantis Shrimp Eat?
Megalodon Facts for Kids
Body Parts of a Crocodile
How Do Manatees Protect Themselves?
Three Adaptations for a Dolphin
The Life Cycle of Bottlenose Dolphins
Life Cycle of a Squid