Mountain Time Vs. Pacific Time

The time of day changes depending on where in the world you are.
••• "Timeless" is Copyrighted by Flickr user: *saxon* (Saxon) under the Creative Commons Attribution license.

Mountain time and Pacific time refer to two time zones located in the United States and Canada. Time zones are ranges of longitudes where a common standard time zone is used to account for the differing amounts of sunlight the regions receive over the course of a day.


The Mountain time zone is one hour ahead of the Pacific time zone, so when it is 8 a.m. in the Mountain time zone, it is 7 a.m. in the Pacific time zone.


The Mountain time zone starts in the western portion of the Great Plains states and includes all of Colorado, New Mexico, Wyoming, Montana, Arizona and Utah, and parts of Idaho. The Pacific time zone starts at the western boundary of the Mountain time zone and runs to the western coast of the United States and Canada. All of these states, except most of Arizona, observe daylight-saving time from mid-March into early November.


Times zones were created in 1884 at the Meridian Conference held in Washington, D.C. Each time zone is about 15 degrees of longitude wide, so there are 24 time zones around the world.


The amount of sunlight varies as the earth rotates, so different parts of the world face the sun, experiencing day, while others face away and experience night. Time zones take the rotation into account, so each region experiences daylight during approximately the same clock time each day.

Fun Fact

Time zones are based off Greenwich Mean Time, which is the time in Greenwich, England, where the Prime Meridian passes through. Mountain Standard Time is seven hours earlier than Greenwich Mean Time and Pacific Standard Time is eight hours earlier.

Related Articles

What are Latitude & Longitude?
Main Characteristics of the Earth's Climate Zone
Definition of Synoptic Weather Map
What Causes the Differences in Pressure That Result...
What Are the Winter Monsoons?
The Climate of the Edwards Plateau
Sun Intensity vs. Angle
How Does the Movement of the Earth Around the Sun Affect...
What Is the Climate of the Painted Desert?
How to Find the Moon in the Sky
What Are the Types of Rocks Found in the Appalachians?
What Is the Torrid Zone?
List of Deserts in India
Factors That Affect the Tundra's Climate
At What Location on Earth Does Each New Day Begin at...
What Forms When Two Continental Plates Collide?
How to Calculate Instantaneous Voltage
How Latitude & Altitude Affect Temperature
Difference Between a Biome & an Ecosystem
Three Types of Convergent Boundaries

Dont Go!

We Have More Great Sciencing Articles!