What Type of Animal Is an Octopus?

What Type of Animal Is an Octopus?
••• Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images

All animals are categorized by a seven-part classification system. What type of animal an octopus is depends on the taxonomic level being discussed. The broadest level is kingdom, followed by phylum, class, order, family, genus and species. All octopuses belong to the order Octopoda. Octopoda is part of the class Cephalopoda, meaning that octopuses are cephalopods. Cephalopoda is part of the phylum Mollusca, meaning that octopuses are also mollusks.

Class: Cephalopoda

Octopuses are cephalopods. Cephalopods are characterized by multiple arms or tentacles, large heads and symmetrical bodies. All cephalopods live in saltwater. They are split into two subclasses. Octopuses, along with squid and cuttlefish, belong to Coleoidea, the soft-bodied cephalopod. Cephalopods belonging to the other subclass, Nautiloidea, have shells.

Phylum: Mollusca

Octopuses are mollusks, a classification which includes gastropods like snails and slugs, bivalves like clams and oysters, and several other distinct classes. Mollusks compose more than 23 percent of classified marine organisms, more than any other phylum, and are also found on land and in freshwater. Many mollusks have external shells, but others, including octopuses, do not.


Even more broadly, octopuses are invertebrates. This classification includes all animal species except those belonging to the subphylum Vertebrata, which includes fish, mammals, reptiles, birds and amphibians. Invertebrates are characterized by their lack of a backbone.


Octopuses are protostomes. This classification is based largely on embryonic development. All bilaterally symmetrical animals are divided into two groups: protostomes and deuterostomes. Early in development, a dent or depression called a blastopore forms in the embryo. In deuterostomes, which includes all vertebrates, this dent eventually forms into the anus. In protostomes like octopuses, the blastopore forms into the mouth.

Related Articles

Basic Characteristics of Cnidaria
The Seven Levels of Classification for a Domestic Cat
What Type of Symmetry Does a Hydra Have?
Crabs That Are Related to Spiders
A List of Mollusks
The Properties of a Triangular-Based Pyramid
Defining Characteristics of Lipid Molecules
What Are Some Ways Starfish Adapt to Their Environment?
How to Calculate a Cumulative Numerical Average
How Do Flatworms & Roundworms Reproduce?
Life Cycle of Obelia
Do Elk Have Ivory Teeth?
Which Organisms Exhibit Cephalization?
Characteristics of Rectangular Pyramids
Difference Between Protozoans & Algae
Levels of Classification of Microbiology
Five Classes of Chordates
What Are the Processes by Which Macromolecules Are...
What Minerals Make Up the Earth's Crust?
Fun Facts About Oysters for Kids

Dont Go!

We Have More Great Sciencing Articles!